RuCTF RULES

Servers with a pre-installed set of vulnerable services.

The task of the participants is finding vulnerabilities, closing them on their own and using them to retrieve private information (flags) from their opponents. The game is continuously monitored by the checking jury system, regularly placing new flags on the teams' servers. In addition, the system accepts from the teams flags captured from the opponents.

TIt is difficult to give a complete set of rules for a CTF challenge, so these rules can change without notice at any moment prior to game start. That is why we recommend checking the rules one more time before the competition starts. Just in case :)

DEFINITIONS
Team:
A group of people led by the captain. The size of any team except the visiting team shall not exceed 7 members.
Service:
A vulnerable application specially prepared by the development team for the game.
Flag:
A string that matches regex: /^\w{31}=$/. The lifetime of a flag is limited, obsolete flags do not affect the scoring of points.
Vulnbox:
An automatic system that logs flags into the services, checks that the services are working properly and awards points. Scores are shown on the scorboard along with the status of the services.
Game round:
A period of time for the checksystem to check and score all the teams. Game round usually takes about 1 minute.
Organizers:
A group of people that run the competition. Organizers do their best to provide a quality and fun event to all participants. Still organizers are to penalize/disqualify teams for rules violation and to solve the critical situations not described in these rules. Teams should be prepared to meet such decisions with understanding. Also organizers do determine the winner. In general, this decision is based on the scoreboard.

TEAMS ARE ALLOWED TO
  • Do whatever they want within their network segment. Most likely the team would like to patch vulnerabilities in their services or block exploitation of vulnerabilities;
  • Attack other teams. Didn't expect that, huh?
TEAMS ARE PROHIBITED TO
  • Attack the game infrastructure operated by organizers;
  • Attack the game infrastructure operated by organizers;
  • Generate excessive amounts of traffic that pose a threat to network stability of any other team
GAME PROCESS
The game starts by issuing the participants identical servers with a pre-defined set of vulnerable services. For the first hour after the game image is issued, the network segments are closed, and teams should concentrate on administering their game server and analyzing the vulnerabilities. After this hour, the network opens and for 8 hours teams can exploit vulnerabilities to gain flags from other teams.
SCORING SYSTEM

Key parameters in the scoring system are SLA and FlagPoints. Their values are individual for each service of each team. Team score is calculated as the sum of the products of the corresponding SLA and FlagPoints of all team's services.

SLA(team, service) is the fraction of the game time in which that service of that team was in the UP state. E.g. if the service was always UP, SLA would be 1. If 4 hours passed from the game start and the service was UP during the first hour and then was not UP for the rest 3 hours, SLA would be 0.25. At the beginning of the game all teams have SLA equal to 1.

FlagPoints(team, service) is the number that correlates with a team's ‘understanding’ of the service. FlagPoints depend on the team attack capabilities (exploiting vulnerabilities against other teams) and defense capabilities (fixing vulnerabilities in their own service). At the beginning of the game all teams have equal FlagPoints, and FlagPoints are updated every game round. If during the round the team failed both in attack and defense of the service, the corresponding FlagPoints will decrease, but will never reach 0. If during the round, the team was only able to defend the service, the corresponding FlagPoints will not change. If the team was able both to attack and to defend, the corresponding FlagPoints will grow.

Flag price is the number of FlagPoints got by attackers for stealing the flag from the victim.

Flag lifetime is the amount of time during which the flag must be available in the service for the checksystem. At RuCTFE it's 15 rounds. Teams should steal the flag and post it to the checksystem until it is expired.

The maximum amount of points awarded/deducted for the flag is equal to the number of the participating teams. If a flag was stolen from a team that was higher on the scoreboard in the previous round, the team that has stolen the flag earns the maximum number of FlagPoints. If a flag was stolen from a team that was below your team on the scoreboard, the number of FlagPoints will decrease based on the difference in teams' positions on the scoreboard, but will never go below 1. FlagPoints for a flag are awarded when that flag expires.

Luckily all this complex text can be expressed in pseudocode:

  def on_game_start(team):
    team.sla = [1] * number_of_services
    team.flagpoints = [0] * number_of_services

  def on_flag_post(attacker, flag):
    victim = flag.owner
    victim_pos = scoreboard[victim]
    attacker_pos = scoreboard[attacker]
    service = flag.service
    max = number_of_teams

  flag_score = attacker_pos > victim_pos ? max : exp(log(max) * (max - victim_pos) / (max - attacker_pos))

  attacker.flagpoints[service] += flag_score
  victim.flagpoints[service] -= min(victim.flagpoints[service], flag_score)

  def get_score(team):
    return sum(map(lambda x: x[0] * x[1],
    zip(team.sla, team.flagpoints)))
    

Apart from FlagPoints, SLA and total score, the scoreboard shows the state of each service. There are four possible states of a service:

UP — means that service is online, serves the requests, stores and returns flags and behaves as expected.
CORRUPT — means that service is online, but past flags cannot be retrieved.
MUMBLE — means that service is online, but behaves not as expected, e.g. if HTTP server listens the port, but doesn't respond on request.
DOWN — means that service is offline.

ПРАВИЛА RuCTF

В начале игры команды получают идентичные серверы с предустановленным набором уязвимых сервисов

Задача участников — найти уязвимости, закрыть их у себя и воспользоваться ими для получения приватной информации (флагов) у соперников. За процессом игры непрерывно следит проверяющая система жюри, регулярно помещая новые флаги на серверы команд. Кроме того, система принимает от команд флаги, захваченные у соперников.

Очень непросто формализовать набор правил, по которым проводится CTF, поэтому этот раздел может поменяться в любой момент до начала игры. Не забудьте перед игрой прочитать его еще раз, на всякий случай :)

ОПРЕДЕЛЕНИЯ
Команда:
Группа людей во главе с капитаном. Размер любой команды за исключением сборной гостевой не должен превышать 7 человек.
Сервис:
Уязвимое приложение, специально подготовленное командой разработчиков для игры.
Флаг:
Строка, удовлетворяющая регулярному выражению: /^\w{31}=$/. Время жизни флага ограничено, и устаревшие флаги не влияют на начисление очков.
Проверяющая система:
Автоматическая система, которая заносит в сервисы флаги, проверяет работоспособность сервисов и начисляет очки. Начисленные очки наряду с состоянием сервисов отображаются в скорборде.
Игровой раунд:
Промежуток времени, за который проверяющая система заносит в сервисы новые флаги, проверяет наличие старых флагов, и начисляет очки за защиту. Все раунды длятся равное количество времени, от 1 минуты, в зависимости от игры.
Жюри:
Группа людей, ответственная за проведение игры. Жюри делает все возможное для того, чтобы игра получилась качественной, честной, и доставила участникам удовольствие. Тем не менее, жюри может наказать или дисквалифицировать команду за нарушение правил, а также может принимать решения в критических ситуациях, не описанных в данных правилах.

Команды должны быть готовы отнестись к таким решениям с пониманием. Также жюри определяет победителя. По большей части, это решение основывается на скорборде.
Командам разрешено
  • Делать все, что заблагорассудится внутри своего сегмента сети. Скорее всего, команды захотят изменить конфигурацию своего сервера и закрыть уязвимости в своих сервисах;
  • Атаковать другие команды в пределах игровой сети. Неожиданно, да?
Командам ЗАПРЕЩЕНО
  • Атаковать системы организаторов;
  • Фильтровать трафик от других команд;
  • Генерировать большой объем трафика, представляющий угрозу стабильности систем организаторов или других команд.
Ход игры
Игра начинается с выдачи участникам идентичных серверов с предустановленным набором уязвимых сервисов. В течение первого часа после выдачи игрового образа сегменты сети закрыты, и командам следует сконцентрироваться на администрировании своего игрового сервера и анализе уязвимостей. По истечение этого часа сеть открывается, и в течение 8 часов команды могут эксплуатировать уязвимости с целью получения флагов у других команд.
Начисление баллов

Ключевыми понятиями в начислении очков являются понятия SLA и FlagPoints. Эти величины индивидуальны для каждого сервиса каждой команды. В каждый момент времени очки команды вычисляются как сумма попарных произведений SLA сервиса на FlagPoints сервиса для всех сервисов.

SLA(team, service) — это доля от прошедшего игрового времени, в течение которой данный сервис у данной команды был в состоянии UP. Например, если сервис ни разу за прошедшее игровое время не опускался, SLA будет равен 1. Если прошло 4 часа игры, и сервис работал первый час, а потом опустился на 3 часа, SLA будет равен 0.25.

FlagPoints(team, service) — это неотрицательное число, которое коррелирует с тем, насколько хорошо команда понимает данный сервис. Если команда умеет эксплуатировать уязвимости в этом сервисе, и закрыла их у себя, ее FlagPoints будет расти. Если она не умеет эксплуатировать уязвимости в этом сервисе и не озаботилась их закрытием, ее FlagPoints будет стремительно приближаться к нулю в результате атак других команд. Если она закрыла уязвимости, но не научилась их эксплуатировать, ее FlagPoints не будет меняться. В начале игры значение FlagPoints всех сервисов у всех команд равно количеству команд в игре.

Стоимость флага — это количество FlagPoints, которое получает атакующая команда и, соответственно, теряет атакуемая за захваченный флаг, сданный атакующей командой в проверяющую систему. Это число зависит от мест в скорборде, занимаемых атакующей и атакуемой командами в прошлом раунде относительно момента сдачи флага. Очки за флаг засчитываются даже если соответствующий сервис атакующей команды не был в состоянии UP.

Время жизни флага — это количество времени, в течение которого флаг должен быть доступен в сервисе для запросов проверяющей системы. Для получения FlagPoints, команде нужно успеть захватывать и сдавать в проверяющую систему флаги до того как у них истекает время жизни.

Если флаг захватывается у команды, находившейся в скорборде выше атакующей в предыдущем раунде, то за него атакующей команде начисляется максимальное количество FlagPoints. Это число равно количеству играющих команд. В противном случае, начисляемое количество FlagPoints экспоненциально падает от максимального к 1. Атакуемая команда, соответственно, теряет то же самое количество FlagPoints, но их итоговое количество у нее никогда не опускается ниже нуля.

К счастью, весь этот сложный текст можно лаконично изложить в виде псевдокода:

  def on_game_start(team):
    team.sla = [1] * number_of_services
    team.flagpoints = [0] * number_of_services

  def on_flag_post(attacker, flag):
    victim = flag.owner
    victim_pos = scoreboard[victim]
    attacker_pos = scoreboard[attacker]
    service = flag.service
    max = number_of_teams

  flag_score = attacker_pos > victim_pos ? max : exp(log(max) * (max - victim_pos) / (max - attacker_pos))

  attacker.flagpoints[service] += flag_score
  victim.flagpoints[service] -= min(victim.flagpoints[service], flag_score)

  def get_score(team):
    return sum(map(lambda x: x[0] * x[1],
    zip(team.sla, team.flagpoints)))
    

Помимо текущих результатов, скорборд отображает SLA, FlagPoints и статус каждого сервиса у каждой команды. Статусы бывают такими:

— UP означает, что сервис доступен по сети, отвечает на запросы и ведет себя так, как того ожидает проверяющая система.
— CORRUPT означает, что сервис доступен по сети, но не может отдать один из предыдущих флагов.
— MUMBLE означает, что сервис доступен по сети, но ведет себя не так, как того ожидает проверяющая система. Например, если HTTP сервер не отвечает на запросы.
— DOWN означает, что сервис недоступен по сети.